Sunday, March 28, 2021

Monchster Bags 2nd Win at the 20th Henry Ford Awards, Here's the Full List of Winners and Program Video | Monchster Chronicles

Monch "Monchster" Henares is one of the winners this year for the Ford Go Further Changemaker Award. His "Masked Crusader Initiative" generated livelihood to the unemployed during the pandemic. His first-ever Henry Ford Award was two years ago when he won "Best Automotive Print Feature" for the Philippine Daily Inquirer.

Ford Philippines has announced the winners of the annual Henry Ford Awards (HFA) in a virtual awarding session attended by over 130 journalists, dealer partners, and Ford executives. 

Now on its 20th milestone year, the HFA continues to recognize excellence and professionalism in Philippine automotive journalism, honoring the work of the country’s esteemed roster of motoring journalists. 

This year, the HFA has awarded winners from sixteen (16) categories, including the newly-introduced Go Further Changemaker Award which recognized five (5) journalists who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to help his or her fellow countrymen at the height of the COVID-19 pandemic last year.

The winners this year were selected from over 200 entriessubmitted by members of the automotive print, online and broadcast media.

“The 20th Henry Ford Awards has become more meaningful this year as we paid tribute to the great work of Filipino motoring journalists who continue to keep the industry alive and their readers informed amid the pandemic. This year’s winners truly raised the bar in delivering automotive news that is timely and relevant to the public,” said EJ Francisco, AVP for Communications, Ford Philippines.

Winners of the 20th Henry Ford Awards

Best Automotive Column

Driving Our Agnes in the Time of COVID

Monsi Serrano for PhilBiz News

Best Automotive Green Feature

This Car Needs No Roads

Ronald Delos Reyes for Daily Tribune

Best Automotive Industry Feature

The Pragmatic SUV

Randy Peregrino for Business Mirror

Best Automotive Online Feature

Benjamin Dimson: How a Filipino Artist Built a Career Designing Porsches and Mercs

Vince Pornelos for AutoIndustriya

Best Automotive Online Lifestyle Feature


Manuel Delos Reyes for 2nd Opinion 

Best Automotive Photograph

Golden Blossoms

Arabelle Jimenez for Motourismo

Best Automotive Print Feature

What Happens When Cheap Oil Meets A Pandemic

Eric Tipan for Manila Bulletin

Best Automotive Print Lifestyle Feature

Anger Management in 2 Hybrids

Teresa Salazar for Philippine Daily Inquirer 

Best Automotive Road Safety Feature

How to Properly and Safely Disinfect Your Car Interior

Julian Panlilio for AutoPH

Best Automotive Technology Feature

Do Expiry Dates for Child Restraints Really Matter?

Froilan Bacungan Jr. for VERA Files 

Best Automotive Video Feature

Understanding the Mild Hybrid Geely Azkarra

Vince Pornelos for AutoIndustriya

Best Ford Automotive Feature

I Think My Father’s Ford Mustang Died With Him

Vernon Sarne for Visor 

Best Ford Automotive Video Feature

Behind the Wheel: 2020 Ford F150 Review

Caco Tirona for AutoDeal

Go Further Changemaker Awardees

Five outstanding motoring journalists receives the Ford Go Further Changemaker Awards. From left: James Deakin, Anjo Perez, Mike Potenciano, Ardi Lopez and yours truly, Monch Henares.

One for the Road Initiative

James Deakin

Masked Crusader Initiative

Monch Henares

I’ll Hold the Line Song Composition

Ardie Lopez

Food for the Heroes Initiative

Anjo Perez

Toy Run Initiative

Mike Potenciano

Best Automotive Section for Broadsheet

Philippine Daily Inquirer

Best Automotive Website

Top Gear Philippines

Board of Judges

An esteemed panel of judges from the academe, corporate, and creative industries comprised this year’s HFA panel of judges.

First Phase

For the first phase, which evaluated the entries on overall composition, style, and substance, the judges were Dr. Maria Margarita Alvina-Acosta (Dean, Department of Communication, Miriam College), Dr. Arminda Santiago (Professor & Dean, College of Mass Communication, University of the Philippines – Diliman), Dr. Severino Sarmenta (Lecturer, Department of Communication, Ateneo de Manila University) and Dr. Cheryll Soriano (Professor, Department of Communication, De La Salle University – Manila). 

Second Phase

On the other hand, the judges for the second phase looked at resonance, relevance and overall impact of the entry to the reading audience. They were Joshua Aquino (Country Lead for Communications, Microsoft Philippines), Owen Cammayo (Vice President and Head of Corporate Affairs, Bank of the Philippine Islands), Ritzi Ronquillo (Chair, Awards Committee for the 2021 Gold Quill Awards, InternationalAssociation of Business Communicators), and Mervin Wenke (Head of Communications and Public Affairs, Google Philippines). 

Special Judges

Finally, the special judges for this year responsible for judging photos, videos, design and layout, content publishing, and website management included Cecile Alcantara (President, Coca-Cola Foundation), Pat Dy (Photographer), Jason Magbanua (Videographer), Dino Ocampo (Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather) and Carlo Ople (Vice President and Head of Marketing Communications, PLDT Home).

The coveted HFA Wall of Fame.


Watch the full program of the 20th Henry Ford Awards Night:


About Monch Henares

Monch "Monchster" Henares is an award-winning automotive journalist.  He is the founder of, which ranks No. 6 in the TOP TEN Car Blogs of the Philippines

Together with his partner, Arabelle Jimenez, he is a Co-Founder of Monch is also a tech and motoring specialist, inventor, and automotive engineer. 

He managed the motor pool for a limousine company in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA for over 10 years. He is now based in Manila, Philippines, and is the President of BuildMeUp Corp, a digital media and marketing communications company.

You may e-mail him at
Follow on Facebook
Instagram @themonchster 
Youtube Channel Monchster Chronicles

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular in Monchster Chronicles